Various Artists: NOW That’s What I Call Punk & New Wave (4CD)
More images

NOW That’s What I Call Punk & New Wave (4CD)

Various Artists

  • US$13.99
    Delivery from US$6.25

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 21 January 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Quadruple CD Album
NOW Music

NOW Music proudly presents NOW That’s What I Call Punk & New Wave - a collection encapsulating the spirit of the times, and of the movement that changed the course of mainstream pop music.

89 tracks across 4 CDs, present the era’s most iconic artists, including The Clash, Blondie, Ramones, U2, Buzzcocks, Siouxsie And The Banshees, Adam & The Ants, The Jam and The Cure.

‘London Calling’ by The Clash, The Undertones’ breakthrough hit ‘Teenage Kicks’, and Buzzcocks ‘Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn't've)’, kick off the first disc - alongside classics from The Stranglers, Siouxsie And The Banshees and Ramones.

The late 70s and early 80s saw an explosion of punk and new wave groups and artists moving from the underground to mainstream chart success. No.1s from The Jam with ‘Going Underground’, ‘Brass In Pocket’ by Pretenders, The Boomtown Rats’ ‘Rat Trap’, Dexys Midnight Runners’ ‘Geno’, and Ian Dury & The Blockheads’ ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’ are all here, as well as top 5 hits from Squeeze, Lene Lovich, Joe Jackson and Patti Smith.

The genre also gave the first crossover success for bands that became the biggest acts in music during the late 70s and early 80s, including The Police, U2, The Cure, Blondie, all featured – along with two tracks from Adam & The Ants’ breakthrough album ‘Kings Of The Wild Frontier’, with the title track and ‘Dog Eat Dog’.

True unique masterpieces of song-writing and performance that sound as fresh today as they did then include Iggy Pop’s ‘Lust For Life’, The Members’ ‘Sound Of The Suburbs’, Joy Division’s ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’, and ‘Rock Lobster’ from The B-52’s.

Brilliant covers flooded the charts – bringing new arrangements and different perspectives to established tracks, including The Slits’ cover of the motown classic 'I Heard It Through The Grapevine', ‘Money’ by The Flying Lizards, Blondie’s ‘Hanging On The Telephone’ and ‘Denis’, and ‘I Only Want To Be With You’ by The Tourists.

A fantastic collection of unique tracks that summarize an incredible time for music.

NOW That’s What I Call Punk & New Wave is also available as 2 LPs pressed on neon pink vinyl featuring a selection of 34 tracks.

CD 1
1 The Clash - London Calling  
2 The Undertones - Teenage Kicks  
3 Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn't've)  
4 The Stranglers - No More Heroes  
5 Siouxsie And The Banshees - Hong Kong Garden  
6 The Rezillos - Top Of The Pops  
7 Ramones - Sheena Is A Punk Rocker  
8 Iggy Pop - Lust For Life  
9 Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers - Roadrunner  
10 X-Ray Spex - Germ Free Adolescents  
11 The Damned - Love Song  
12 Skids - Into The Valley  
13 XTC - Making Plans For Nigel  
14 Squeeze - Cool For Cats  
15 Tom Robinson Band - 2-4-6-8 Motorway  
16 Elvis Costello - Watching The Detectives  
17 Joe Jackson - Is She Really Going Out With Him?  
18 Jags - Back Of My Hand  
19 Secret Affair - Time For Action  
20 The Motors - Airport  
21 The Cars - My Best Friend's Girl  
22 Patti Smith - Because The Night  
CD 2
1 The Jam - Going Underground  
2 The Police - Can't Stand Losing You  
3 The Boomtown Rats - Rat Trap  
4 Blondie - Hanging On The Telephone  
5 Pretenders - Brass In Pocket  
6 Dexys Midnight Runners - Geno  
7 Ian Dury & The Blockheads - Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick  
8 Lene Lovich - Lucky Number  
9 Toyah - Ieya  
10 Adam & The Ants - Dog Eat Dog  
11 Bow Wow Wow - Go Wild In The Country  
12 Hazel O'Connor - Eighth Day  
13 Tenpole Tudor - Swords Of A Thousand Men  
14 Generation X - King Rocker  
15 Dr. Feelgood - Milk And Alcohol  
16 The Barracudas - Summer Fun  
17 The Piranhas - Tom Hark  
18 Sham 69 - If The Kids Are United  
19 The Vibrators - Automatic Lover  
20 Department S - Is Vic There?  
21 The Only Ones - Another Girl, Another Planet  
22 Mink DeVille - Spanish Stroll  
23 Yellow Dog - Just One More Night  
CD 3
1 The B-52's - Rock Lobster  
2 Devo - Whip It  
3 The Flying Lizards - Money  
4 Martha And The Muffins - Echo Beach  
5 The Cure - A Forest  
6 Joy Division - Love Will Tear Us Apart  
7 Joe Jackson - It's Different For Girls  
8 The Regents - 7 Teen  
9 Squeeze - Up The Junction  
10 The Tourists - I Only Want To Be With You  
11 Split Enz - I Got You  
12 The Psychedelic Furs - Pretty In Pink  
13 Simple Minds - Love Song  
14 Ultravox! - Rockwrok  
15 Marianne Faithfull - Broken English  
16 Grace Jones - Private Life  
17 The Slits - I Heard It Through The Grapevine  
18 Ian Dury & The Blockheads - What A Waste  
19 Rich Kids - Rich Kids  
20 Sham 69 - Angels With Dirty Faces  
21 The Dickies - Banana Splits  
22 Jilted John - Jilted John  
CD 4
1 U2 - I Will Follow  
2 The Members - Sound Of The Suburbs  
3 The Ruts - Babylon's Burning  
4 The Boomtown Rats - She's So Modern  
5 X-Ray Spex - Identity  
6 Siouxsie And The Banshees - Christine  
7 The Jam - Down In The Tube Station At Midnight  
8 Ramones - Baby, I Love You  
9 Blondie - Denis  
10 Pretenders - Kid  
11 The Stranglers - Duchess  
12 The Teardrop Explodes - Reward  
13 Adam & The Ants - Kings Of The Wild Frontier  
14 Bow Wow Wow - C30 C60 C90 Go  
15 Public Image Limited - Public Image  
16 Magazine - Shot By Both Sides  
17 The Runaways - Cherry Bomb  
18 The Knack - My Sharona  
19 Eddie & The Hot Rods - Do Anything You Wanna Do  
20 Skids - Working For The Yankee Dollar  
21 The Vapors - Turning Japanese  
22 Toy Dolls - Nellie The Elephant