Various Artists: NOW That’s What I Call Electronic (4CD)

NOW That’s What I Call Electronic (4CD)

Various Artists

  • US$12.99
    Delivery from US$6.18

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 07 January 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Quadruple CD Album
NOW Music

NOW are proud to present NOW That’s What I Call Electronic, this 78-track 4CD compilation features iconic tracks from legendary artists, Queen, Blondie, Duran Duran, Eurythmics, ABBA and many more.

The album showcases the emergence of synthpop as a dominant sub-genre of new wave, following the breakout success of former Tubeway Army singer Gary Numan with his debut #1 solo single ‘Cars’. Electronic music took over the charts during the early 80s, Duran Duran’s ‘Planet Earth’ and Japan’s ‘Quite Life’ filled our soundwaves alongside tracks such as ‘Vienna’, ‘Tainted Love’, ‘Together In Electric Dreams’, ‘Never Ending Story’ and The Human League’s breakthrough single ‘The Sound Of The Crowd’. Plus Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark’s ‘Enola Gay’ and Paul Hardcastle’s ‘19’ gave voice to powerful social statements.

Indie pop tracks such as Joy Division’s ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ and The Cure’s ‘The Walk’ became key in the 80s alternate scene. Other massive hits included on the album which have become radio staples include a-ha’s ‘Take On Me’, Visage’s ‘Fade To Grey’ and Heaven 17’s ‘Temptation’.

Transport yourself to the dance-floor as NOW That’s What I Call Electronic celebrates huge dance-pop records ‘I Feel For You’ by Chaka Khan and ‘Let The Music Play’ by Shannon, both of which pushed the genre boundaries by fusing electro, Hi-NRG and rap. Freeez’s ‘I.O.U.’, Man 2 Man’s ‘Male Stripper’ and ‘Fascinated’ by Company B sit alongside extended versions of dance classics including the 12” version of Donna Summer’s ‘I Feel Love’, Dead Or Alive’s ‘You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)’ and the original ‘Blue Monday’ by New Order which lead the way in 12” single sales.

Of course, we found room for ABBA’s ‘Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)’ the synth riff from which was sampled so effectively in Madonna’s 2005 single ‘Hung Up’. NOW That’s What I Call Electronic is the perfect collector’s item and gift for any lover of dance music.

CD 1
1 Queen - Radio Ga Ga  
2 New Order - Blue Monday  
3 Eurythmics, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart - Love Is A Stranger  
4 Ultravox - Vienna  
5 Visage - Fade To Grey  
6 Japan - Quiet Life  
7 Soft Cell - Tainted Love  
8 The Human League - The Sound Of The Crowd  
9 Duran Duran - Planet Earth  
10 Spandau Ballet - To Cut A Long Story Short  
11 Gary Numan - Cars  
12 Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Enola Gay  
13 Landscape - Einstein A Go-Go  
14 Tears For Fears - Mad World  
15 Heaven 17 - Temptation  
16 Blancmange - Living On The Ceiling  
17 Fiction Factory - (Feels Like) Heaven  
18 The Lotus Eaters - The First Picture Of You  
19 A Flock Of Seagulls - I Ran (So Far Away)  
20 Yello - The Race  
CD 2
1 Donna Summer - I Feel Love (12” version)  
2 Chaka Khan - I Feel For You  
3 Freeez - I.O.U.  
4 Shannon - Let The Music Play  
5 Company B - Fascinated  
6 The S.O.S Band - Just Be Good To Me  
7 Nu Shooz - I Can't Wait  
8 The Pointer Sisters - Automatic  
9 Man 2 Man - Male Stripper  
10 Patrick Cowley feat. Sylvester - Do You Wanna Funk  
11 Liza Minnelli - Losing My Mind  
12 Eighth Wonder - I'm Not Scared  
13 Animotion - Obsession  
14 Trans-X - Living On Video  
15 Dazz Band - Let It All Blow  
16 Harold Faltermeyer - Axel F (From "Beverly Hills Cop" Soundtrack)  
17 Art Of Noise - Close (To The Edit)  
18 Malcolm McLaren - Buffalo Gals  
19 Joe Jackson - Steppin' Out  
CD 3
1 ABBA - Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)  
2 Blondie - Atomic  
3 The Buggles - Video Killed The Radio Star  
4 M - Pop Muzik  
5 Paul Hardcastle - 19  
6 Falco - Rock Me Amadeus (The American Edit)  
7 Phil Lynott - Yellow Pearl (First 7" Remix)  
8 Kim Wilde - Kids In America  
9 Altered Images - Don't Talk To Me About Love  
10 a-ha - Take On Me  
11 Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder - Together In Electric Dreams  
12 Howard Jones - New Song  
13 Nik Kershaw - Wouldn't It Be Good  
14 Limahl - Never Ending Story  
15 Thompson Twins - Love On Your Side  
16 Men Without Hats - The Safety Dance  
17 Kon Kan - I Beg Your Pardon (I Never Promised You A Rose Garden)  
18 Peter Schilling - Major Tom (Coming Home)  
19 Midge Ure - If I Was  
20 China Crisis - Christian  
21 Jan Hammer - Crockett's Theme (From "Miami Vice II" Soundtrack)  
CD 4
1 Dead Or Alive - You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) (Performance Mix)  
2 The Human League - Love Action (I Believe In Love)  
3 Propaganda - Dr Mabuse  
4 The Cure - The Walk  
5 Joy Division - Love Will Tear Us Apart  
6 Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Messages  
7 Our Daughter's Wedding - Lawn Chairs  
8 Iggy Pop - Nightclubbing  
9 Bronski Beat - Smalltown Boy  
10 Erasure - Drama!  
11 Scritti Politti - Absolute  
12 The Associates - Party Fears Two  
13 Furniture - Brilliant Mind  
14 Talk Talk - It's My Life  
15 Simple Minds - Glittering Prize  
16 Swansway - Soul Train  
17 The Passions - I'm In Love With A German Film Star  
18 Soft Cell - Say Hello, Wave Goodbye